But He’s Mine

The last few months I’ve been volunteering at an assisted living center.  This is something I’ve talked about having a desire to do for years but never did…for some reason.  I absolutely love it!

Yesterday, we took a few of the residents out for lunch.  There are only two married couples in the whole facility and one of those couples came on the lunch outing.  I can’t use their names but She has Alzheimer’s or dementia…I don’t really know which.  So we make sure that She sits near us.  Sometimes during the meal She would tell me about her husband.

“He’s WONDERFUL!” She told me with a smile.  “He does everything!”

And sometimes…She forgot who He was.

At the end of our meal she leaned over to me and asked, “What do you think of that tall one over there?” She pointed across the table to Him.

“He’s your husband, darling.”  I told her.

“He is?!” she asked.

I confirmed that He, in fact, was her spouse.  Her eyes widened and she smiled broadly, thrilled to learn that the handsome tall gentleman was HERS!

Several years ago, My Man’s grandmother was also struck with Alzheimer’s.  One year for Thanksgiving we were all together and Grandpa was sort of testing her, proving to the family how much the disease had progressed.

“Who’s that?” he asked and pointed to a grandchild.

“I don’t know,” she’d answer.

“Who’s that?” he asked, pointing to one of her sons.

“I don’t know,” was the answer again.

Finally, someone pointed to Grandpa and asked her, “Well, who’s he?”

Grandma looked at him and said, “I don’t know…” then she wrapped his arms around her and said, “but I know he’s mine!”

Hard and leathered Grandpa cried.  We all did.  It was one of the most beautiful things I’d ever witnessed.

This blog has no moral or lesson, I guess.  Though,  you may sometime find that your mind looks at your spouse and thinks, “who is that?” and you look at where life has brought you and you’ll think, “where am I?”  It’s good to know that our hearts stay tethered and the heart will say, “he’s mine.”

 

 

About buddyandbug

Man and I moved from Texas to Colorado with Buddy and Bug. This blog is a chronicle of our adventures as we deal with homesickness and adjust to Mountain Living. “If you are a dreamer,come in. If you are a dreamer, a wisher, a liar, a hoper, a prayer, a magic-bean-buyer. If you're a pretender, come sit by my fire, for we have some flax-golden tales to spin. Come in! Come in!” ~ Shel Silverstein
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to But He’s Mine

  1. Sheila Uselton says:

    I love this! Thank you!

  2. sharib22 says:

    this is so sweet! ❤

Leave a Reply

