How Much Do I Love You More

The last few weeks I’ve had several revelations that made me suspect that someone is praying for me.  I have friends and family who pray for me all of the time but I feel like these prayers are very specific as the self-revelations I’m having are. 

I just woke up from the most vivid, most beautiful dream! 

A song accompanied my dream.  I can’t remember all of the words but I remember the tune. 

“How much does the…?

How much does the….?

How far does the….?

How much do I need/love you?” 

Again, I can’t remember the words but I know they were unanswerable questions, like how vast is the sky?  How large is the universe?

I see a river and the banks are covered in the greenest, most lush grass!  There are black jagged rocks piled near the shoreline.  Then I see three rivers and at the place where they meet are three huge Niagara Falls type waterfalls and they are roaring into a seemingly endless….crack…in the earth.

Then I’m in the water.  It’s the softest, clearest water, an indescribable azure and in my dream I know they are the tears of heaven.

The song continues and it’s an answer to all of the questions.  While the answers are sung I’m in the water and there’s some obstruction behind me like a wall or glass but I can’t go back and I just have to look forward while an orca riding a huge wave, comes barreling towards me.  I feel no fear or curiosity.  I just watch as I soak in peace.  The orca comes faster and faster and the wave coming with it is powerful and just as the orca and I are face to face, it’s gone and I’m rolling and tumbling in the tear-water wave.  It’s powerful and strong but as gentle as a caress, as sensual as a tumbling in silk.

And the last words of the song are clear:

“How much do I love you more?”

Matthew 6:26, Matthew 7:11

About buddyandbug

Man and I moved from Texas to Colorado with Buddy and Bug. This blog is a chronicle of our adventures as we deal with homesickness and adjust to Mountain Living. “If you are a dreamer,come in. If you are a dreamer, a wisher, a liar, a hoper, a prayer, a magic-bean-buyer. If you're a pretender, come sit by my fire, for we have some flax-golden tales to spin. Come in! Come in!” ~ Shel Silverstein
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to How Much Do I Love You More

  1. Tiffany says:

    I want your dream(s)!! Mine are always putting me in some stressful or scary situation.

  2. buddyandbug says:

    The night before this one I dreamt that Bug pooped his pants so….

Leave a Reply

