Nerd Problems

Buddy made honor roll.  Again.  I missed the awards assembly last trimester so I was not going to miss it today.  Bug and I got ready early and headed to the school to cheer for Buddy.

“Bubber?  Bubby?”  Bug called while looking for Buddy.  We could not find Buddy where the Honored students were seated. 

“Call him by his name, Bug.  He may not like being called ‘Bubber’ at school.”  I told him he could go down and scope it out until it was time to start.  Bug stood at the end of each row looking for his Brother.  He waved to former students of his elementary school that he recognized but still he could not find Buddy. 

A teacher approached him and I thought she was going to send him back to me as the program was about to start.  Instead she grabbed an extra chair and sat Bug with the 6th grade honor roll students.  Bug turned and waved to me with a huge smile on his face!

Taking a cue from Man, I shook my head and rubbed my brow.

The honor roll students were called one by one.  They did not call Buddy.

“Uh-oh,” I whispered to my friend, “Maybe Buddy isn’t honor roll.  Did I get up early for nothing?!”

“He’s probably Gold,” she whispered.

“He did make straight A’s,” I told her.

“Yeah.  They’ll call the silver and gold honors separate.”

The honor roll students stood on stage with their certificates while parents took their picture.  Next they called the gold and silver honors.  Buddy’s name was called but still….no Bud.  After pictures were taken of this group, I finally spied him.  Bug must’ve seen him about the same time I did and he tackled his brother.

“Brother!  What do you think the chances are that I’ll ever get honor roll?”

“Buddy!  I’m so proud of you. What’s wrong?  You look upset.”

“Well…that’s because I missed the call to be dismissed for the assembly. See, I was reading a book and I never heard them say to come and so I missed the whole thing.”

*sad trombone*

And that is what being a nerd is all about, Charlie Brown.

 

About buddyandbug

Man and I moved from Texas to Colorado with Buddy and Bug. This blog is a chronicle of our adventures as we deal with homesickness and adjust to Mountain Living. “If you are a dreamer,come in. If you are a dreamer, a wisher, a liar, a hoper, a prayer, a magic-bean-buyer. If you're a pretender, come sit by my fire, for we have some flax-golden tales to spin. Come in! Come in!” ~ Shel Silverstein
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

