No Snow Days

Almost every time it snows here I get a call from my mother.

“How much snow do you have?” she asks

“I don’t know, Ma.  Two?  Three?”

“Well, just stay inside today.  Light a fire, make yourself some hot cocoa and read a good book.  Stay off the roads!”

“Mom, I tell you this every time:  Your idea sounds wonderful but it’s just not possible.  It’s Tuesday.  The kids have school and after that there’s karate and swim.  While they’re at school I have errands that I have to run because next week is [ insert some event here].”

Check out this map of when schools close across the country.  See how the Denver area is dark blue?  Note that Alaska is also in dark blue.

1800159_10152247042513487_138441719_o 

This week, I knew the snow was coming and so yesterday I went down hill and ran as many errands as humanly possible.  Still, today I had a jazz dance class that I could not miss.  The next part of the dance would be taught and I can not play catch up in a dance class.  It’s a disaster.  Plus, I had to officially register for the class and today was the last day to do it AND, because I’m not a student, I had to register in person.  There was no avoiding leaving the house today.  Also, it is my day to pick up the Jr. High kids in our car pool.

There are some snow driving scenarios that I handle quite well.  Today’s snow was not one of them.  Today the roads were like someone had spilled a giant Slurpee on the road.  That slushy stuff is retched!  On my way down hill I saw 2 accidents.  I think that’s pretty damn good, considering.

When I’m driving on a day like today, visions of possible accidents play through my head.  There’s the one where I slide off the road into the tree.  Or, I slide across the road and off the side of the mountain (always a fun one to imagine.)  There’s the one where I slide into a guardrail and my car is shot back across the road like a pinball machine, wiping out other cars in its path.  Every time I round the corner of Caren’s car roll over, I see myself having the same accident.  I check my rearview mirror and am relieved to not see a car, out of control, flying into me and I look ahead and breathe easier when I see all traffic moving in the appropriate direction before me.  It’s pretty awful when you see the accidents happening up ahead of you because the ice makes things unpredictable. They could still send other cars sliding back at you.

While these scenes play out in my head, I say a lot of prayers and thank God that I’m the only one in the car.  I make my plan for if said accident happens.  My cell phone is in the consul….thingy in my car so it won’t be flying all over the car and I can reach it to call 911.  It’s all on blue tooth so I can call by voice command if need be.  I note the song playing on the stereo.  Is it a good song to die to?  Sometimes no, but I’m not going to risk taking my hand away to change the song or even to move my thumb across the steering wheel to switch it.  How about I just not die now.  But then, Oh!  This one wouldn’t be bad…  I could go out to this.  Dear Lord, if it is Your plan to take me today on these icy roads, now is Your chance.  Go!  Do it!  Make it quick!  OH!  You lost the perfect opportunity.  Now I have to live because I refuse, REFUSE to head towards the light while [insert over played pop song here].

Maybe that’s just me.

About buddyandbug

Man and I moved from Texas to Colorado with Buddy and Bug. This blog is a chronicle of our adventures as we deal with homesickness and adjust to Mountain Living. “If you are a dreamer,come in. If you are a dreamer, a wisher, a liar, a hoper, a prayer, a magic-bean-buyer. If you're a pretender, come sit by my fire, for we have some flax-golden tales to spin. Come in! Come in!” ~ Shel Silverstein
Aside | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

