Airing Of The Grievances

Festivus.  This magical holiday is fast approaching!  Every year I think I’d like to have a Festivus party and then fail to make it happen.  One day soon… 

If you’ve not heard of Festivus I am sorry for you and wonder where the heck you’ve been the last oh…20 years?  The holiday was created by the O’Keefe family but was somehow caught wind of by the creators of Seinfeld which brought it to the knowledge of the “rest of us.”  December 23rd is the hallowed night to celebrate Festivus.  It begins with a Festivus dinner which is followed by the Airing Of The Grievances, where everyone gets to lash out at family or the world for the things and ways they have been disappointed in the past year.  Makes sense to make this official as it seems to go hand in hand with most holiday’s or events where a family gathers.  This is logically followed by the Feats of Strength.  This is the final Festivus event entailing a wrestling match.  Festivus is not over until someone successfully pins the head of the house.  There are decorations for the holiday,  (well…just one.  An aluminum pole that is displayed without adornment) and there are, of course, a series of Festivus miracles which is labeled to all kinds of easily explained events. 

I was so excited the other day when I saw an article with a headline announcing that a gentleman had erected a Festivus pole at his state capitol and then proceeded to air his grievances.  I thought this was so perfect!  Your state capitol is the PERFECT place to air ones grievances!  Gee, government officials, where do we begin…?  But then I read the article and I was saddened to learn that it began with his issue of there being a nativity on the capitol grounds.

Ugh.

Can you be freakin’ serious?!  Of all the things you are going to take the opportunity to complain about?! COME ON! 

I KNOW (and I’m pretty sure the whole freakin’ world knows this because it’s been shoved in our faces every Christmas for at least the past 20 years) that Christmas is chalk full of pagan traditions and was originally a celebration of the winter solstice or something else entirely other than the birth of Christ.  We all know that he was not born in December.  At all.  HOWEVER for 100’s of years that is what December 25th has been.  I don’t know who started it or when it was started exactly but for HUNDREDS of years this is what it has meant to BILLIONS of people.  So….I’m thinking that little tradition is going to stick around.  Stop trying to remove Christ from Christmas!!!  It’s gotten beyond ridiculous!  It’s hurtful to those who love Him. 

The real interesting thing is that many, many people want Christ out of the holiday but they want to keep the Love, Joy, Peace, Kindness, Patience, Goodness, and Faithfulness that is the Spirit of Christmas!  Um…those are also the fruits of the Spirit of Christ as described in Galations 5:22.  So, no.  You can’t have Christmas spirit with out Christ. 

0666f1c550559a7f1fe09b6851645376 

I left one fruit of the spirit out and, yes, it is on purpose: SELF-CONTROL!  STOP over eating in the  name of the holidays.  STOP over spending in the name of Christmas.  STOP over doing it (MIchal) in the name of the season!  Christmas can come with out all of that.  It will come with out tamales.  It will come with out packages tied up with the just right ribbon.  It will come with out…I’m gonna say it…family and friends.  Christmas is a celebration that happens in your heart, not around a beautifully decorated tree or a picturesque fireplace with fun stockings hung from it or from a table loaded down with fattening foods.

Back to removing Christ from Christmas:  I’m exhausted.  I’m exhausted with the constant beating down of the Christian faith.  I hear the most hurtful mockings and flippant dismissals of anything to do with my faith all the time now.  It seems to be an on going thing.  If anyone were to speak in such ways about a Buddhist or Jewish person of faith it would be deemed politically incorrect at the very least and insensitive and intolerable at best but not when it comes to Christianity.  I’m so tired of it but….

(I’m not yet done with my Airing of the Grievances)

…but, Christians, you have brought it on yourselves.  Thank you Duck Dynasty and Chik-fil-a for your fowl statements of hate and intolerance to homosexuals.  And yes, I’m gonna call it hate because it is counter to being loving.  Why is this constantly being brought up?  Christians, how can this possibly make our Lord appealing?  What part of things like this falls under the category of Love, Joy, PEACE, KINDNESS, GOODNESS…?  Our job is not to go and rectify the sins of the world.  Our job is to be Christ to others.  There are slews of other examples of this in-your-face-judgment but my rant has gone on quite long enough. I’m so tired of my faith being kicked and spat on but I so totally see why it is.  Christians make NOTHING about our faith and our God embraceable.  I’m including myself in that.  I’m an awful parent, wife, daughter, sibling, (I do think I’m a pretty good friend…I think.) and I’m not being hard on myself.  I know who I am and I  know my heart. I don’t need anyone to point it out to me (sister) because I beat the crap out of myself constantly for who the real me is.  It’s gross and it’s sad and it’s EXACTLY why I need Jesus Christ in my life and in my heart.  He is the only one who can tenderly and lovingly shine light on my darkness and give me the strength and the courage to change those things about myself.  He is the reason for anything good in me.  He is the reason I am still alive.  He is the reason for the season.

Now…wanna wrestle?

And I want to add in regards to the bird people and their stand on gays are sinners is that I do believe that they should be able to share what they believe. I get very frustrated when my opinion or belief is immediately shut down because it is faith based. My question is why are you saying it? What purpose does it have? How does it further the kingdom of God? I have lead to little boys to Christ and with out once telling them that they are horrible bad sinners who were going to hell if they didn’t change their ways. I shared the love of God with them. I shared of His gift and His sacrifice and of His heart. As they grew to love Christ and know Him they have been ashamed of their sins and called on Him for help and change. They both had private, self-lead conversions that they later shared with me. There was no fear driven altar call. Just little boys who loved a God who loved them and wanted all that He was in them.

About buddyandbug

Man and I moved from Texas to Colorado with Buddy and Bug. This blog is a chronicle of our adventures as we deal with homesickness and adjust to Mountain Living. “If you are a dreamer,come in. If you are a dreamer, a wisher, a liar, a hoper, a prayer, a magic-bean-buyer. If you're a pretender, come sit by my fire, for we have some flax-golden tales to spin. Come in! Come in!” ~ Shel Silverstein
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Airing Of The Grievances

  1. Wapi says:

    Wow, you’ve said an awful lot in this post! Feeling feisty it would appear!
    Can’t help but throw in my two cents worth, which I know I probably will regret.
    The Duck Dynasty guy is not in trouble because of his faith or his beliefs, or his ability to say what he wants to say. He is in trouble because he is an employee of A&E, or whatever network it is, and he is saying things in public, as a representative of the show, that A&E does not wish to have their representatives say. It’s not unlike Paula Deen losing her show for using the N word. She can use it all she wants in her personal life, but when she’s a company employee, working in the company kitchen, that company can fire her for using it, or for any other reason they may have. He’d have been fine if he’d just kept his mouth shut in a company arranged interview. He signed the contract….
    And the festivus guy, he’s not just complaining. His point is that you should not have religious displays on government property. It’s in the Constitution, sort of. And this Nativity is actually inside the capitol building, not just on the grounds. The State of Florida continuously gets around the Constitutional issue by saying anyone can apply for a permit to erect any display, and so he chose the most ridiculous one he could think of, a festivus pole with PBR cans hanging on it. I hear the Wiccans have erected something as well…never a dull moment when trying to interpret the Constitution.

    • buddyandbug says:

      All valid. I personally don’t care about the DD guys job. I don’t care for what he’s saying in the name of Christ. He can think that and say that but I don’t believe it is a good way to reach out to people and therefore does little to serve the Faith. The festivus guy and crap like that seems petty to me. No one is running around tearing down Cupids on Valentine’s Day though he is a of Greek mythology, an old religion full of many gods and godesses. But if it is of a Judeo-Christian beliefs it can’t be tolerated and it is in part because of their own intolerance. This is what I’m sayin.

Leave a Reply

