Ho Down

For the past two months I’ve been playing a whore.  As the end of this production is looming, I’m finding myself to be quite melancholy*.  This ho is down.  

*Please note that when ever I use the word “melancholy” that I pronounce it “meh-lawn-cole-ee.”  Thank you.

Initially hesitant (or uncomfortable rather) with playing Lucy, I now am very much in love with her and hate to say goodbye.  She’s made me realize that I am kind of hot stuff.  I’m usually waist to neck deep in self loathing.  I’m over weight, my boobs are too big, my skin is aging…  As Lucy I’ve come to realize that my figure is quite nice, actually.  My curves are sexy and any “flaws” in my skin or body shape are my story and my character.  When My Husband tells me I’m a stone cold fox, it’s because I am and not just because he’s obligated to say or think that.  I mean, I still have moments where I look in the mirror or look at a picture and cringe at the size of my arms and the way they flap or that I have the saddest little bum…a Mommy Butt…however, those things were unnoticed even by young men who saw Lucy’s performance.  So…not a bad thing for a woman near 40 to discover that she’s still “got it.”  Hell, most of my life I’ve questioned if I had “it” at all so, thank you Lucy!

I like to think that I’ve always been pretty good at remembering that everyone has a story and circumstances that have made them who they are.  Whores are looked at as dirty and nasty women.  I don’t think that and Lucy as confirmed that for me.  What kind of desperation would drive a woman to sell her body?  Addiction?  Poverty?  Something big and awful would have to place a woman in that situation.  Society, likes to think they are just bad women.  The real nasty, dirty whores are the women who are opening their legs to anything and anyone for free.  Granted, there must be something sad and broken there to cause that behavior as well but really those women have more choice over that then actual prostitutes.  Women in prostitution have pimps and other factors that shackle them to that lifestyle.  So, I’ve been a little defensive for Lucy.  I get a little pissed when certain people in the community dismissed the show due to it being “risqué.”  They have not seen the show and I know there have been productions of this show that like to push the envelope in that department but in this case we have not.  Our show is one class act!  I wouldn’t have stuck with it if it had been anything inappropriate. 

Every story has a good guy and a bad guy and you can’t play the role of a bad guy, good.  Otherwise the contrast is lost and the point being made is impotent.  So I’m playing a whore like a whore.  There is lots of cleavage and innuendo and seductive dancing.  That being said, Lucy is not a “bad guy.”  She is a good woman in a bad situation.  She is a woman in need of redemption, like we all are.  When grace and love is shown to her, hope springs up and she can see that she can change and that her life can change.  The real bad guys in this show are the “regular” members of society, the people who could help but don’t.  The people who would blame Lucy for her lifestyle but offer no way to change it. 

So when these people say that our show is risqué, I hurt.  How dare they judge it with out seeing it!  Come and meet Lucy and get to know her the way I have.  One audience member told me that I portrayed her to be vulnerable and honorable.  Biggest compliment I’ve ever received!  Come and meet THAT Lucy.  Come and meet all of the ladies who work in the Red Rat and see what hotties they are, in all shapes and sizes and ages and wonder at their story. 

So, this ho is down because it’s almost time to say good bye to her dear friend, Lucy.  She’s down because so many have missed the opportunity to meet her and to get to know her.  And that’s just Lucy.

This cast and the characters in it are all intriguing and dynamic!  Jekyll and Hyde strips the façade of man away and forces us to look at the inner struggle that we all have.  We all have good and bad wrestling for rule inside of us.  It’s not comfortable and it’s not attractive but it’s reality.  Maybe that’s really why these people are bothered by the show.  Maybe they don’t want to think about that part of themselves.  It’s more fun to go to the show with the jazz hands and Carol Channing smiles. 

 

About buddyandbug

Man and I moved from Texas to Colorado with Buddy and Bug. This blog is a chronicle of our adventures as we deal with homesickness and adjust to Mountain Living. “If you are a dreamer,come in. If you are a dreamer, a wisher, a liar, a hoper, a prayer, a magic-bean-buyer. If you're a pretender, come sit by my fire, for we have some flax-golden tales to spin. Come in! Come in!” ~ Shel Silverstein
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

