My People Are The BEST!

This past week (and today especially) I have been blessed by how amazing my friends and family are!  Earlier this week I got a text from my friend, Tiffany, back in Texas.  She informed me that she had made arrangements to come and see me in Jekyll and Hyde and that she could help me get things ready for Bug’s birthday at the end of the month.

First, it is crazy that a friend would come all the way from Texas for my community theater production but also, how incredibly thoughtful to want to help with Bug’s birthday.  I was touched by her love for my son and I both!  *MUAH!* I miss you Tiff! 

Yesterday, Victoria called and arranged a play date for my sons with hers.

“Just bring em by in the a.m. as soon as they wake up,” she said.

“Cool.  What about you?  Would you be up for some company?”

We agreed on coffee talk together while the boys played.  When we arrived, Victoria immediately showed me her latest knitting project: a sweater for my chicken!  (This is a whole other blog entirely that I can’t wait to write but will wait until the CHIC-ken photo shoot to go with it.)

“The pattern was kind of hard to follow and I hope you don’t mind, I started to run out of one color and so had to add another,” she explained as she let me check out the nearly finished sweater.  I had laughingly told her about these chicken sweaters and “oh how great would that be for winter.  They are on Etsy but do you think you could knit one?”

She said she would try to and I knew she would but I had no idea she would do so immediately!  I kind of thought she would forget about it really and I would just order some from Etsy.  It was the sweetest thing ever and we laughed at her cleverness and at how ridiculously ADORABLE my chicken will look this winter in her custom, royal purple, wool sweater!

We then discussed the possibility of hats/bonnets for the ladies while the boys ran around the yard like wild Indians.  (Pardon.  Native Americans.)

While sitting with Victoria, my mom called. 

“I’ve got a flight to come and see your show!” she said.

“Oh Mom!  Yea!  I’m so excited!”

I then cringed a little thinking of my mom watch me be a prostitute.  My Mother is extremely modest.  You think I’m prude?  I’m a wild woman compared to Mother.  In White Christmas (my first show) the dress I wore at curtain call was a red Talbots dress. 3/4 length sleeves, neckline up to the neck (as implied), peplum and knee length.  After the show Mom gave me kudos on the performance and then said:

“Next time you do a show, maybe I should see your costume in advance…”

“Um…well, the director makes the call on the costumes so…  Why do you say that?”

“Well, that last dress you wore made you look…busty.”

“Mom, I’ve got news for you.  It was no illusion.  I am busty.”

Thinking back on this and then imagining my Mom coming to see me play Lucy…

“Mom, just…just remember that I’m playing a whore,” I reminded her.

“Oh honey, I know you’re a whore,” she said matter-of-factly.

“K.  That…was kind of weird to hear you say but…”

“I won’t be judging you on your slutty behavior.  Just don’t bring it home.”

“Oh, I bring it home!”

“Alright.  I don’t want to hear that kind of talk.”

See?  Prude.

Anywhoo, I am so excited that Mommy is coming to the show too!

I had some errands to run and Victoria offered to keep the boys while I did so.  They were all having too much fun to end it.  On my way down the hill I hit a car.  It was dumb.  The cop said it’s a minor citation and not to worry about it but I was literally sick because I had wrecked (as Man predicted I would) our new car.

I have a history of wrecking the new car while it is still virtually new.  I can’t wait until it’s a year old.  After the wrecks I go on and on with out accidents.  Strangely enough, I have had more accidents since moving to CO then I have in my whole driving career.  But…we have also had more cars since moving to CO so there’s that. 

I called Victoria to tell her what had happened.  She told me not to worry about the kids.  She’d keep them as long as I needed. 

“Do you want me to come and get you?” she asked.

“No, no.  I’m fine.  I have to stay here and work all this out anyway.”

About a minute later, Caren called.

“Are you OK?”

“I’m fine.  A little sore.  Mostly just sick that I wrecked the car.  Man is going to KILL me!”

“You’ll never hear the end of it.  I’m so sorry I’m not there to be with you!  I’m down the hill.  Do you need anything?  I’m going to the milk store next.”

“No, we’re good, but thank you.  And don’t worry.  There’s nothing you could do if you were here.  I’m fine, really.”

I knew I had to call Man.  I cursed and cried a little, filled with dread at the task at hand. 

“Honey, I’m fine but I wrecked the car.”

“Is everyone OK?” he asked with genuine concern.

“Yes, Baby, but the car isn’t.  Radiator fluid just poured out.  I’m so sorry!”

“I can leave work in 30 minutes.  Do you want me to come home?”

I was still afraid of how he would respond to everything after the news sunk in but I also knew all I wanted was for him to be with me.

“Please….” I sighed with relief.

Next Alicia text me.  Out husbands work together so I’m sure My Man told hers.  I assured I was fine.

“My Man is coming to check you out in about an hour,” she insisted.

Her Man is a volunteer EMT.  I didn’t think it was necessary but my head did feel tight…it would be reassuring to know all was as fine as I kept telling everyone it was.

After the other car was towed and I received my slap-on-the-wrist citation, I drove my car home.  I called Victoria to let her know I was home.

“If you want you can send the boys home now.  My car can’t go that far but I can walk up to get them.”

“No, no!  They are still having fun!  I’ll bring them home later.  You need to take a hot bath and take some aspirin.  Are you sure you don’t have a concussion or anything?”

“Um…I hit my head but I’m pretty sure I’m OK.”

“Let me know.  I can take you to get looked at.”

“Man is on his way home.  I’ll be fine.  Until he kills me.”

The house was void of kids and Man and all I really wanted to do was take advantage of the chance to have uninterrupted rehearsal time.  Instead I took a hot shower and slipped into my most comfortable jeans and tank top.  Just then I heard My Man pull up.

Here we go.  I thought.  I waited to hear him walk down the drive way to check out the car but instead I head his feet trod up to the front door.  He let himself in and came straight to check on me.

“Are you OK?” he asked, wrapping his arms around me.  He kissed my head and then pulled back to get a look at my eyes.  “Pupils are the same.”

After re-telling the accident again he had me lay on the couch.

“You need rest,” he said as he started to do the dishes.

“Oh!  Please don’t do the dishes!  It makes me feel bad.  I have so much to do!”

“Not today.”

About that time, Caren arrived. 

“The girls are at the mall and I need to drive down and pick them up so I can’t stay long.  Just wanted to check on you!”

While Caren and I chatted, Man went out to inspect the damage on the car.  When he returned he made all the phone calls to the insurance company and the tow truck people.  I laid on the couch amazed at his tenderness.  Why did I think he would be mad?  He’s never mad when I wreck the car!

After Caren left, My Saintly Husband made me a mug of hot water.  Alicia’s Man arrived.  Just by looking at the car he was able to tell me how my body moved and why it hurt in the places that it does.  He confirmed that there was no concussion but warned that if I got dizzy or nauseous to go in for an exam. 

“You’re going to be sore tomorrow.  Really sore.  You won’t likely have full range of motion of your neck,” he warned.

The rest of the evening I have spent reading on the deck with My Saintly Husband.  The boys have been reading quietly in the basement.

I got a text from yet another friend in Texas saying that she’s and her girlfriend are coming to Jekyll and Hyde!  Seriously?!  And I just received a call from my sweet dear friend, Lesley to check on me and to tell me she loves me.  My sister called, followed by my Auntie Cutie.  They all say the same:  Don’t worry about the car.  What matters is that everyone was safe.

I really and truly have the most amazing family and friends.  The Facebook well wishes and the phone calls and texts, the visits and the care of my family has my heart full regardless of the disappointment I feel over the wrecked car.

 

 

 

About buddyandbug

Man and I moved from Texas to Colorado with Buddy and Bug. This blog is a chronicle of our adventures as we deal with homesickness and adjust to Mountain Living. “If you are a dreamer,come in. If you are a dreamer, a wisher, a liar, a hoper, a prayer, a magic-bean-buyer. If you're a pretender, come sit by my fire, for we have some flax-golden tales to spin. Come in! Come in!” ~ Shel Silverstein
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My People Are The BEST!

  1. Stephanie says:

    Glad you’re okay and that there are so many who surround you with love and support!

Leave a Reply

