Dr. Sheldon “Buddy” Cooper

sheldon

For quite some time friends have been recommending that I watch the television sitcom, Big Bang Theory.  The show is about a group of nerds.  Seeing as how I live with a group of nerds, I understand why friends felt I could relate.

 On my trip to and from Paris, Icelandair played Big Bang Theory on the in flight show.  It was hysterical!  Caren, Robby and I were in stitches laughing at their antics and at the nerds we know and love in our lives.  

“Sheldon is Buddy when he grows up!” Caren laughed.

At first I could only see a small similarity there but the more I watch the more I point and howl at the TV, “that is so Buddy!”

Dr. Sheldon Cooper is a super nerd.  He’s so brilliant that he’s rarely wrong and is confused when he is.  He is as unemotive as a Volcan or a droid because emotion is illogical.  OK that quality is more My Man than Buddy but there are still times where I see Buddy struggle with emotion verses logic.

A few times this week I observed Buddy in a “Sheldon Moment.”

Bug has a leather journal that he writes letters to Man in.  Several times a week, he writes to his Dad and then Dad responds.  They leave the journal on one another’s pillows, signalling that a note had been written.  

Worried that Buddy may feel left out I offered to get him a journal that he could share with Daddy.

“I’m good. I mean, why do I need to write in a journal to Dad when he’s right here?” he asked, gesturing toward his Father.

“Ha ha! Well, it’s just nice and if you are ever needing to ask Daddy about something that maybe you are afraid or embarrassed to talk to him about face-to-face you have your journal to communicate with. Some things are easier to write than to say and writing gives you time to collect your thoughts and words.”

“Well, then if I am ever in a position where I need to talk to Dad about something uncomfortable I can simply rip a piece of paper from a notebook and write to him then or I could just e-mail him,” he reasoned.

I laughed at his logic and agreed that he certainly had a handle on things.

Buddy sometimes has a hard time with people’s jokes because he is so literal or the joke “isn’t possible.” There is a Gieco commercial that I love that claims that Gieco customers are as happy as Paul Revere with a cell phone. It shows Paul Revere peering out behind a curtained window while on his cell. “They’re coming,” he says into his phone. “Yeah, the British.” Satisfactorily having given the warning, he returns to his friends who were patiently waiting on him and continues in a game of charades. I die laughing every time!

“This commercial is preposterous!” Buddy cried in exasperation. “Everyone knows cell phones weren’t invented at that time! There weren’t even house phones, which is precisely why he had to ride through the streets to give the warning.”

“Well Honey, that’s why it’s funny. It’s funny to see him using a phone and just the way he nonchalantly makes the call….it’s funny!”

But if you have to explain the joke…

Later I guess Buddy started to see the humor in it because when we saw the commercial again he laughed and laughed.

This week Buddy and Bug have been attending a Lego camp at the Rec Center. It has a Star Wars theme and each day the kids do a re-enactment of various battles after building all of the players needed out of Legos. There are even motors or engines or something that allows for their ATATs and ATSTs to actually move. Basically, it’s nerd camp. Yesterday, I went to pick the boys up from camp. Their fearless leaders, two college kids, had the kids circle up for a pow-wow before leaving. They reviewed some of the things they engineered, what worked and what didn’t, and how they could correct those problems.

“Excuse me?” Buddy requested permission to speak. “What will we be doing tomorrow, sirs?”

“Tomorrow we will be blowing up the Death Star!”

Buddy, clearly comfortable in his natural habitat, stood to his feet, raised his hands above his head, and began to twist and shake his tooshy. The room erupted as his fellow nerds gleefully cheered with anticipation of destroying the Death Star. As they finished cleaning up there was excited chatter about Rebel Alliances and such.

So last night when I watched Dr. Sheldon Cooper struggle with jokes, choose the ease of common sense over the magic of romantic notions, and to show bursts of emotion over…I don’t know what because the words and concepts were so far over my head; I had to agree with Caren’s assessment. Sheldon Cooper is Buddy grown up.

Look out world! He is sure to take over the world!

About buddyandbug

Man and I moved from Texas to Colorado with Buddy and Bug. This blog is a chronicle of our adventures as we deal with homesickness and adjust to Mountain Living. “If you are a dreamer,come in. If you are a dreamer, a wisher, a liar, a hoper, a prayer, a magic-bean-buyer. If you're a pretender, come sit by my fire, for we have some flax-golden tales to spin. Come in! Come in!” ~ Shel Silverstein
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

