Tech Week

This morning Bug climbed into my bed.  (Note: his breath was horrendous.)  He wrapped his chubby little legs and arms around me and sighed.

“Oh Mom!  I’ve missed you so much!” he said with his dragon breath.

“I’ve missed you too, Love Bug!  I know this week is tough for the family but it’s almost over and then I’ll be all yours again.”

Then Buddy joined us under the covers too.

“Mom, I started a new business yesterday,” he seriously informed me.  (Clone of his father!)

“Oh really?  Tell me about your new endeavour.”

“I’m selling paper messenger dragons.  I’ve already got $4.25 worth of orders!”

“Wow!  You better get busy!”

“I made two last night.”

“Can I help you too, Brother?”  Bug asked.

“Um…I’ll think about it.  Mom, why do you have to stay so late at rehearsal this week?”

Here’s how it works:

For a few months you work on learning lines, music and choreography.  This is all done with these imaginary sets in mind and thought-of-but-not-yet-produced costumes and lighting and sound effects.  On the week of the show you finally add all of those “unknowns” to your worked-on-but-not-quite-ready-to-perform numbers. 

Taking choreography from a flat space and then moving out over a larger space and a set with multiple levels and stairs and props….changes things.  Some times drastically.  Working with live musicians instead of a track….changes things. 

I don’t dance numerically.  After the 5,6,7,8 to start, I’m no longer counting.  I dance musically.  That sounds so pretty but what that means is that I’m relying on the beat and musical cues to know when to make my moves.  I punch the air on the Bomp!  Bomp! in the song.  That Bomp!  Bomp! may be very prominent on the track we’ve worked with but not so much with the live band.  Mix that into my mad dance skills.  Oh yeah…

It may have taken me so many measures of music to move from this side of the dance studio to that side but my hustle has to change a bit to get to that side of the stage and up the stairs. 

Change is a struggle.  It does not bode well with our human nature.  You can imagine how pleasant a cast of 80 people are while going through all of these adjustments. 

I would love to vent and lay it all out for you but, just as I don’t share everything with you about my family, I can’t share everything with you about my theatre family either.  There are diva drama’s for sure.  Damn.  Great blog fodder!

That’s why I have to stay late this week.  We are adding so many new elements and we have to get the kinks worked out before we open on Friday night.  Tech Week is bumpy.  It’s just the nature of that beast.  It’s stressful and frustrating.  For someone like me, who likes to have control and structure…it can be excruciating! 

This is how you know you are in love.  It’s worth making dinner for my family while doing my make up and singing with a track before heading out to rehearse.  It’s worth the work, the beating, and the tears to be a part of something great in the end. 

Yes, I think it will be great!

Yesterday, I drove past Man on his way home from work, on my way to rehearsal.  (God love him for coming home early to get the kids to all of their after school activities.)  I didn’t see him until I got home at 11 last night.  I went into the boys room and kissed Buddy and Bug on their sweet heads.  Their long eyelashes were fanned out over their soft, round cheeks.  I wondered how their day went.  How was Swim today?  I changed into my jammies and slipped under the sheets next to My Man.  He rolled over toward me and pulled me tight to him.

“Are you awake?”  I whispered.  His soft snore told me he wasn’t.

I am missing my family this week.  I’m missing my friends (Thanks Caren, Victoria and Melissa for the tea time this a.m!) but I also know that if I wasn’t doing a show I’d be missing that too.

 

About buddyandbug

Man and I moved from Texas to Colorado with Buddy and Bug. This blog is a chronicle of our adventures as we deal with homesickness and adjust to Mountain Living. “If you are a dreamer,come in. If you are a dreamer, a wisher, a liar, a hoper, a prayer, a magic-bean-buyer. If you're a pretender, come sit by my fire, for we have some flax-golden tales to spin. Come in! Come in!” ~ Shel Silverstein
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

