2013 Cupid’s Undie Run

Long time, no blog!  Pretty much all of my spare time is being used to rehearse for the Evening on Broadway performance that I’m in.  I should post a link!  Let’s see if this works…

http://lonetreeartscenter.org/showinfo.php?id=48

If you are in the Denver area come see our show!  There is a ton of talent in this group.  I’m really proud to be included among them.

I promised to blog about Cupids Undies Run and so I shall.  Hands down, it is the best Fun Run we do all year!  Second only to Running of the Green, which is fast approaching!  The Undies Run is to raise money for The Children’s Tumor Foundation.  The run is in February in most major cities and is about a mile long.  We start by meeting at a bar in downtown Denver.  I suppose some may benefit from a little “liquid courage” before taking off through the city in freezing temps in nothing but their underwear. 

Last year was the first time my group of friends did this run.  We were definitely one of the older people involved.  We were certainly the most covered up.  Temps last year were brutal!  If I recall it was only about 18 degrees and there was snow on the ground.  Caren wore long johns and the rest of us wore leggings with fun undies over them.  We covered things up on top as well with Valentine themed tank tops. 

We arrived at the bar expecting…I don’t know what really but, what we got was an eye full!  I would equate the scene to a frat party.  Lot’s of young men and women and they took the theme to heart.  They were just in straight up bras and panties, briefs, boxer briefs, etc.  There were a few modest men who went with boxers and some chicks did as well but mostly…lot’s of skin.

This year was no different though my group was a little braver than the 2012 run.  This year we went for costumes that kept us in our skivvies but also in the more Modest category.  We went Risky Business style!  Man’s white button up shirt, underwear and black sunglasses. 

cupidrun4

Caren found a pair of undies for me at VS that said Too Much Fun across the bum.  Of course, my shirt covered all that but I did flash it to my team mates at least.  Several people came to take a picture of our team.  We were adorable, if I do say so myself, and covered!  I think we all felt pretty comfortable in our costumes.  That is a strange statement and it was a strange phenomena but when you are among a bunch of half-naked people and you’re more covered up than you are at the beach…. 

Just before the race was to start, big fat snow flakes started coming down!  Everyone in the bar was cheering!  Getting through the doors was a little tough at first but we all funneled out and took off.  The cold is a good motivator to get it done fast.  I may have started too fast though because I sputtered out kind of early.  So embarrassing.  It was only a mile! 

The most fun part of the run is watching the people who are not in the run.  The homeless stand there, eyes wide and mouth agape.  The Cupid’s Undie Run is a good day for the homeless.  There were some people standing outside of a theater or a gallery waiting to open.  They all had their iPhones and iPads up.  I’m sure I’m on YouTube somewhere.  If you see it, I’m probably the one doing a pathetic jog in the back of the group.  I would get tired and walk and then when I’d see a camera I’d start to run again.  My friend Christine was the best because she lagged behind with me.

At one point we were in the back of the pack and this girl comes off of one of the side streets.

“Thank God I found you guys!” she wailed.  “I got off the path and ended up on some street by myself.  These homeless guys were shouting at me!  I’m so glad I found you!”

Well, we didn’t know her at all.  I think she just meant that she was glad she found some other runners.  Clearly she was smashed.  She stopped at one point to tie her shoe.  Some other stragglers were coming up behind us.  I was releaved to see that I did not have to be last.  I started to run again to keep my “lead” but noticed Christine wasn’t with me.  She stopped to help Drunkandlost Girl tie her shoe!  That’s how wasted she was. 

*shaking my head*

“Come on Christine!”

Christine finished tieing Drunkandlost Girl’s shoe and then caught up to me.

“I kind of hate to leave her…” she said.  “I feel sort of responsible for her now.”

“She’s a big girl.  She’s responsible for herself and she’s with the group now.  I will not let her beat me back to the bar though.  I will not be last!”

With that cry to rally we jogged like the wind to the finish line! 

 We had such a great time and thank you to all who donated to the cause. I got a free pair of underwear out of it and I’m sure the children and their families who this benefits are greatly appreciative. Cause really, we did it for the kids.

About buddyandbug

Man and I moved from Texas to Colorado with Buddy and Bug. This blog is a chronicle of our adventures as we deal with homesickness and adjust to Mountain Living. “If you are a dreamer,come in. If you are a dreamer, a wisher, a liar, a hoper, a prayer, a magic-bean-buyer. If you're a pretender, come sit by my fire, for we have some flax-golden tales to spin. Come in! Come in!” ~ Shel Silverstein
Aside | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

