Get Down On It

Music!!!  I love it, people!  I want to hear it, sing it and, yes, I want to MOVE to it!  The movement part has never gone too well for me…ya know? 

As a little girl I never donned a pink tutu in a ballet class.  I sort of got some dance experience in high school in color guard.  Oh Lord.  That was bad.  My mother and my boyfriend (who grew up to be My Man) would giggle and laugh at my attempts to dance with a flag out on the football field.  People think that is so awful but seriously…it’s OK.  It was bad.  In college I took beginner modern, tap and ballet for P.E. credits.  Now, as an adult, I cry through episodes of Dancing With The Stars and bumble my way through dance auditions and adult tap classes.  Reader, you may recall that my tap instructor basically broke up with me.  So there’s that.

For whatever reason, (glutton for punishment, tenacity, love) I keep putting myself in these shows and landing in dance ensembles.  For those of you unfamiliar with theater: You are in the dance ensemble either because you are an awesome dancer or because you’re not in a bigger role but they need bodies in the back as filler.  Then they can make it look like a HUGE dance number when in reality 10 people are doing the big dance stuff and we Fillers are swaying in the back ground. 

I’m exagerrating a tad. 

Last week’s choreography for Mamma Mia sent me home in tears.  The rest of the week I played music while cooking dinner. “My kitchen is for DANCING!” was scratched across my chalkboard wall.

The kids thought I was just in a really good mood but I was just trying to get more comfortable with movement.  I was trying to tell my body that I am a dancer.  I invited a friend over for dance party.  I thought she could tell me, “Hey!  That looks good!”  or “Don’t ever do that again.”  Instead we ended up sitting on the couch gabbing all night.  So I kept my recitals private and contained to the kitchen. 

We’re at the point in the show where I dream of choreography and the music from the show runs on loop in my head. Yesterday morning I woke up with a different song in my head.  It was a song I’ve not heard in eons, really.
&lt (Skip the ad and play this while reading the rest of this post.) That’s the song I woke up with in my head.
I took it as a call to action!

The children returned to school (WOO HOO!) and my house was clean (WHOOP!  WHOOP!) and so I had the luxury of studying the rehearsal videos and working on my dance technique. I spent over two hours dancing! It was awesome! I might have hurt my knee a little but I think I’ll be alright.

I was so excited for rehearsal. Last night we reviewed the dances we already learned so there was no stress of learning a new number. I was so happy to show off my hard work! There was no anxiety. No embarassment. SO FUN! When I got home I told Man all about it.

“That’s great! Did anyone notice?”

“Probably not,” I said, “but I know how well I did!”

I fell asleep feeling full and accomplished.

About buddyandbug

Man and I moved from Texas to Colorado with Buddy and Bug. This blog is a chronicle of our adventures as we deal with homesickness and adjust to Mountain Living. “If you are a dreamer,come in. If you are a dreamer, a wisher, a liar, a hoper, a prayer, a magic-bean-buyer. If you're a pretender, come sit by my fire, for we have some flax-golden tales to spin. Come in! Come in!” ~ Shel Silverstein
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

