All Dressed Up And No Where To Go

Friday Caren and I took her car in for maintenance and then did some shopping at a nearby outlet mall.  There was a Saks outlet, called Off 5th, that we slipped in to browse.

Right away we found things we liked.  From off the rack I pulled out a flowy, bohemian styled blouse that would look great with nice jeans or a pair of crisp capris.

“I used to dress bohemian,”  I half sighed to Caren.

“Me too.”

“This is so beautiful but I keep wondering, where would I go in it?”

The mountain doesn’t provied a lot of opportunity for getting gussied up.  Though I’ve seen women in Dallas Texas wear just this very outfit to the grocery store; that’s just not something you’d find happening at the King Sooper of a small mountain town. 

There was a gorgeous coral and navy maxi dress that I thought would be fun for the beach vacations I have planned this summer.  However, I held the maxi up next to me, hem on the floor, and the bust and shoulders were at least a head taller than me.

“I could never pull this off,” I said.

“You’d have to hem 2 feet off of it!” Caren laughed.

I came upon a Zac Posen cocktail dress that was to die for!

“But where would I go?” I bemoaned again.

We found several cute dresses, cocktail and otherwise, that were just too lovely for our lifestyle.  Caren tried on several long knit cardigans that were gorgeous.  Each one cost about $600.  And that was the outlet price!  We laughed as we put them back on the hangers.

Next we came upon the accessories!  There were all kinds of fun feathered and bejeweled headbands.  There was a black one that mocked a small pill box hat with netting and flowers and feathers.  Caren grabbed it before I did.  She put it on and found a mirror to see how she looked.  She arranged the netting to drape down across half of her face.  It was truly stunning! 

“Oh!  I just love it!  It looks amazing on you!” I gushed.

“I love it too!” she raved as she turned her head from one side to the other to admire all angles.  “But…like you said, ‘where do I think I’m going?'” she said sadly as she returned the bauble.

That reality did not stop us from trying on more jeweled hair pieces (I found one that I couldn’t part with.  Mountain Shmountain.) or from picking up gorgeous cocktail clutches.

After about an hour of playing dress up we finally conceded that this was just not the store for us.  We began to make our way out of the store, stopping here and there to admire this blouse or that skirt.

“Where would we go?” I asked again, as if to reinforce why we were leaving.

“Alpaca World!”  Caren declared and she pointed to the store across from Off 5th.

We laughed as we crossed the hall to Alpaca World boasting sweaters, wraps and blankets made from alpaca wool.

We found several cute knit tops there that were flattering and comfortable.

“This is exactly where we’re going,” I said, and we laughed!  It’s funny ’cause it’s true.

We’re just two glamorous broads in guise as Mountain Women.

 

About buddyandbug

Man and I moved from Texas to Colorado with Buddy and Bug. This blog is a chronicle of our adventures as we deal with homesickness and adjust to Mountain Living. “If you are a dreamer,come in. If you are a dreamer, a wisher, a liar, a hoper, a prayer, a magic-bean-buyer. If you're a pretender, come sit by my fire, for we have some flax-golden tales to spin. Come in! Come in!” ~ Shel Silverstein
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to All Dressed Up And No Where To Go

  1. sharib22 says:

    dude I live in a huge metropolis but our lifestyle doesn’t call for getting all fancy and dressed up!

    • buddyandbug says:

      That’s true. But if you want to get dressed up it’s hardly questioned. Caren said, “these kinds of clothes makes me think I could handle the lifestyle of the famous.” Ha! I just need a gala to attend or something.

  2. sharib22 says:

    hahaha..I would so love to meet Caren some day!!! And you are right..but you are close to Denver…surely you could find something swanky to do!!!

Leave a Reply

