Pintrestrians

Last Friday Caren called to see if I’d go shopping with her.

“YES!  I’ve gotta get out of this house.  I just need to shower and dress,” I responded as I grabbed a cute black sweater, skinny jeans and my tall brown boots.  Cute and comfy shopping outfit.

Once at the mall I noticed ladies everywhere wearing tall brown boots.  Most wore them with black pants.  A repeat outfit was the denim shirt with black pants, brown boots and a scarf.

“I pinned that outfit on Pintrest,” I said to Caren as I pointed out the nicely dressed woman at the coffee shop.  She did look nice but I saw three or four other ladies with the same outfit on.  Maybe there was a different shade of denim, the scarves were a different color or there was a variation of how it was tied, but it was essentially the exact same outfit.

Everywhere I looked I was seeing Pintrest outfits.  It was kind of creepy.  I would like to have pat myself on the back for not having the exact same thing but I felt a little sheepish for sporting the black and brown combo.

At least I’m in blue jeans and not black.  That’s different.  Oh, yeah!  Big kudos.

It’s really not that big of a deal what we are wearing.  The important part is that we do have clothes on.  Fashion should be another creative outlet, though, and copying something right off of Pinterest is not creative!  Let the ideas there inspire you!

I saw every single one of these outfits at the mall:

Super cute. So in, it’s out.

I too have worn this outfit…

Also on Pintrest. Pretty much the same as above. If you are pinning basically t he same outfit twice you can bet that everyone else is already out there wearing it.

K. Did not actually see this at the mall but I have pinned it and I wear it all the time. Different plaid flannels and my boots.

These outfits are great!  Thanks to Pinterest, they have already ran their course.  Will I stop wearing my plaid flannel with boots?  Honestly?  Nah, but I will try to be more creative.  I like all the new fun colored jeans out there.  Maybe I should grab a pair of those.  One does not need to match their colors.  Coordinate? Yes.  Match? No.  Instead of tall boots, try short.  Instead of brown, try grey.   My husband said that he always knows which airport he’s at by the shoes.  Denver airport: black knee-high boot.

So, lets all try to learn the difference between copying and inspiration.  Lest we will all be dressing the same and have the same furniture in our homes, arranged the same way, or we’ll go to a wedding and think…This is lovely!  I remember seeing that idea on Pinterest… 

 

 

 

About buddyandbug

Man and I moved from Texas to Colorado with Buddy and Bug. This blog is a chronicle of our adventures as we deal with homesickness and adjust to Mountain Living. “If you are a dreamer,come in. If you are a dreamer, a wisher, a liar, a hoper, a prayer, a magic-bean-buyer. If you're a pretender, come sit by my fire, for we have some flax-golden tales to spin. Come in! Come in!” ~ Shel Silverstein
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Pintrestrians

  1. April says:

    THANK YOU!!! This look really is everywhere…and as much as I love it, it’s the new “jeans and tshirt” of this decade 🙂 The problem I’m noticing with Pintrest is most of the repinned things are on skinny skinny people…they look a little different on me! Must keep proportions in mind!

  2. Tiffany says:

    And I thought I was so out of the loop by not being on Pintrest, when actually I’m challenging my (own) creativity… atleast that’s my story now & I’m sticking to it 🙂

Leave a Reply

