Ridiculous

Last night I had an awful dream.  I was being poisoned by this old woman.  I knew she was doing it but I didn’t know how.  She started antagonizing me about being poisoned.  She said she could tell I was feeling the effects of it.

“Your vision is blurry,” the hag taunted.

“No it’s not.” I lied.  My vision was going in and out of focus.

“What’s that?” she teased.  “Are those bells ringing?”

My ears started to ring as I struggled to focus on her.  Then she was blurry and wavy, like a smeared water-color.  She burst through this distorted vision and I could see her clearly. She was laughing and baring sharp teeth.

It scared me awake.

Man is out-of-town again.  I HATE having nightmares when he’s not home.  If he’s there I can nudge him awake to tell him I had a bad dream.  He wraps me up in his arms and his embrace smothers the fear.  Instead I just laid there, feeling raw and vulnerable.

Very interesting dream…. Fear of the meds?  That seems almost too obvious.

On a lighter note:

It’s 45 degrees here and it was time to put the chickens away.  They all obediently walked into their coop except the one we named Angel.  We also call her Stupid.  I chased Stupid for about 15 minutes, round and round the coop.  I felt like an idiot!  I tried to grab her but she’d dodge me and get away.  I tried to chase her through the door but then the pullets (somewhere between a chick and a hen) ran out.  I caught them easily and put them back.  The boys kept coming out on the deck.

“Did you catch Stupid yet?”

“NO!”  Who’s the stupid one, eh?

The annoying thing was she really wanted into the coop.  She kept going up to the sides of it and pecking at it, trying to find a way in.  So STUPID!  I finally herded her into the coop and retrieved the one egg that was laid today.  Egg in hand, I opened the gate of the hen yard and Drake and Sasha bulldozed through.  Second verse same as the first.  I’m yelling at the dogs, chasing them and pulling them, all the while trying to protect my egg.  I finally got them out and they wrestled each other up the hill.

I hiked up to the house and had to just chuckle to myself.  What a ridiculous series of events.  I loved it.

 

About buddyandbug

Man and I moved from Texas to Colorado with Buddy and Bug. This blog is a chronicle of our adventures as we deal with homesickness and adjust to Mountain Living. “If you are a dreamer,come in. If you are a dreamer, a wisher, a liar, a hoper, a prayer, a magic-bean-buyer. If you're a pretender, come sit by my fire, for we have some flax-golden tales to spin. Come in! Come in!” ~ Shel Silverstein
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

