How Long Will This Last?

“Mom, I am making my New Year’s resolution now,” Bug announced this morning.  “From now on I’m going to have a good attitude and obey you.  I will do what you say the first time you ask for a whole year.”

“Wow, Bug!  That will be really tough!”

“I know.  But it will make you happy right?”

Yikes.  The boys are completely attuned to what I am going through but unsure of what’s going on.  Obviously they feel responsible.

“Buddy, Bug, Come here.  I want to talk to you.  Look at my face.  I am very unhappy.  I am sad because my Grandma died.  I am not unhappy with you or Daddy.  You all make me happy.  Being obedient and having a good attitude would definitely help me but it is not why you make me happy.  It’s not why I love you.”

“How long is this going to last?” Buddy asked.

Wouldn’t we all like to know?

It’s 10:00 p.m. here.  Late for where I am.  An hour later for my Texas people.  I have no idea if Man and I are in the same time zone or not.  I tried to call him but it went straight to voicemail.

I’ve prayed.  I’ve tried “talking” to Grandma.  I sent texts to an unresponsive friend just to feel like someone was actually hearing me.  The best thing to do would be to sleep.

I was crying in the basement and Bug called down the stairs, “Mommy?  Are you crying?”

“Nope,” I lied cheerily.  “Just playing with the dogs.  Go back to bed pumpkin.”

That’s where I’m headed.  Bed.

About buddyandbug

Man and I moved from Texas to Colorado with Buddy and Bug. This blog is a chronicle of our adventures as we deal with homesickness and adjust to Mountain Living. “If you are a dreamer,come in. If you are a dreamer, a wisher, a liar, a hoper, a prayer, a magic-bean-buyer. If you're a pretender, come sit by my fire, for we have some flax-golden tales to spin. Come in! Come in!” ~ Shel Silverstein
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

