I Did It Myyyyy Waaaaay!

I am one of those people who pins things on Pinterest and then actually does them.  I try the recipes (none of which I’ve liked), I piece together the outfits, I throw the parties and I do the Do It Yourself projects.  I have not done everything I’ve pinned but only because I just haven’t gotten to it yet.

Last week the boys were at Cooking Camp and I took advantage of the time with out them to shop and gather up supplies for the various DIY projects I wanted to do.  About two years ago, Bug was playing with spray paint (red) and ruined our coffee table (old anyways.)  I had seen this on Pinterest:

The link below is where the original idea came from.

http://homemaking-cottage-blog.com/?p=3809&preview=true

I thought it would be a great solution to our messed up table.  Though I think my kids may be a little old for it, we always have kids of all ages around.  I thought it would be fun to have at a BBQ Man was throwing this weekend.

I did not read how this crafty mom created this.  I think it’s pretty self-explanatory.  Chalk board paint and some other pretty color on the bottom.  Done.  So off to shop I went to buy paints!

Once at the hardware store I was faced with options.  Did I want spray paint? Should I brush or roll it on?  I asked the people there and was told it’s best to paint furniture with a sponge roller.  I bought one of those.  I was also told the standard, Sand Paper First thing.

“Nah, I don’t think that will be necessary,” I told the clerk.  He looked at me with a Suit Yourself look on his face and returned the sand paper to its spot in the aisle, strategically placed near the paint because it is  recommended to sand paper first.

Next I headed to the craft store because I had some other projects I wanted to do that would require more canvas and frames and such.  While on my way I passed World Market Cost Plus.

This is one of my absolute most favorite stores!  I couldn’t just drive by without stopping in to say “hello!”  I decided to make a stop and see what little goodies they may have.  They had a huge display of fun back yard BBQ accessories.  While pursuing the various service wares I started to picture our back yard and then imagining where I would serve this and that from.  I decided I really needed an outdoor bar of sorts to set out wine and glasses and cheese and such.  I looked through the stores offerings of furniture but found no outdoor bar.  A clerk could read my puzzled expression and asked to help.

“Can I help you find something you need?” she asked.  Very interesting way to word her question…  I suddenly realized that I did indeed NEED an outdoor bar.  It would be so great to not have to go in and out of the house for things and there was a huge empty wall space that I really wanted to fill.  If you are sitting at the patio table facing the house you have nothing but a wall to look at.

The store did not have any in stock this year but there was another option.  She showed me a small wooden piece that, once sealed to be protected from weather, would make a great outdoor bar.  It was small enough to fit in my car and had a cabinet, drawer, and a place to store wine.  I would of course not be storing wine outside but at least for the time of the party we could stash goods there and have it easily accessable.  I was sold!  Plus it was on sale!!!  Weeee!

It was Baking Day and so I enlisted some ladies to come and help me unload my new piece.  I was disappointed to find that it did not fill the wall space the way I hoped.  It did fill long ways but one still faces a wall.

“Well, I could put flowers on it and all of the wine accessories and things will be there…”

I cheered myself up by setting to work on my chalkboard table.  In the garage, I rearranged things until I found the old coffee table.  While doing so I came upon cabinet doors that were in our bathroom before we remodeled.  As soon as I saw them I had an epiphany!  I would repurpose them into chalk board signs to set on top of the bar!  Then there would not just be empty wall space!  Oh joy!  I pulled them out and set them in my work space with the table.

Next I gathered up all of my supplies:

There’s tape, sponge roller and tray, chalk board paint, craft paint and brushes, paper doilies (you’ll see why…) and coffee.  Don’t worry folks, it’s decaf.  Notice there is no sandpaper or stripping agents.  I don’t like those steps.  They delay my gratification!

Next I taped off the inset of the cabinet doors.  This step is aggravating for me as well but I know in the long run it will save me time and heart ache.  I do not have the patience to carefully edge out my paint jobs and in my excitement, I paint messy.

I poured the chalkboard paint into the tray and found that it was not black but a gorgeous, deep, Navy Blue.  Just de-lish!I rolled that on the table top and then in the center of the cabinets.  It took 3 coats to cover to my satisfaction.  In between coats I painted the bottom half of the coffee table and the “frames” of the cabinets.

My original idea for the cabinets were to have them framed in red and then I would paint on decorations in turquoise and yellow.  My red was a flop though.  I forgot how difficult it is to cover things in red.  It shows every mistake you make.  Avoid red paint if at all possible!  So after the red paint dried I went back with the turquoise used on the coffee table.

I also had this idea that I could use paper doilies as a stencil.  Yes, I have paper doilies.  Scones and things taste better when served on a plate lined with a doily.  I figured someone must have used a doily as a stencil before and so did a Pinterest search.  Sure enough!  Their instructions say to take a toothpick and poke it through all the holes because sometimes there are little paper tags sticking in there.  Then they used a sponge to dab the paint in.  I did not have a sponge so I decided I would use paint brushes.

While waiting for the turquoise paint to dry I set to work with my toothpick.  Waiting for paint to dry is one my least favorite things.  Let’s get this project done already!  I threw myself into my doily picking and drinking coffee.  Even though its decaf I can tell there is a little trace of something in there.  My blood was racing through me.  It was either that or creative juices.  Does anyone else get high off of DIY projects?  I don’t mean on purpose like from spray paint fumes or anything like that.  There is a rush I get when I create things!  I just love it!

Finally the paint was dry and I laid the doily over the area I wanted to stencil.  (K.  It wasn’t quite dry enough and the doily did stick a little but I was able to fix that.)  Then I chose my craft paint colors and dabbed it over the doily.

Wa-la!

  Terrible picture…  Here is a close up:

  In the pic you can see where the original idea of red still shows a bit but I kind of liked it.  Looks sort of Old Worldy.

Here are the before and afters:

(Sorry that I don’t know how to make them side by side…)

Before

After

Before

After

The table took less than an hour to do!  It’s so easy.  And I really don’t know why they tell you to sand and strip things first.  I guess it would make the paint adhere to the surface better.  I just figured that the red spray paint from Bug’s exploding paint can incident adhered so well without any prep then this paint will too.

Here is a full pic of my outdoor bar:

I heart Cost Plus!

Here is a link up to  fun DIY blog:  http://thededicatedhouse.blogspot.com/2012/06/make-it-pretty-monday-week-3.html

About buddyandbug

Man and I moved from Texas to Colorado with Buddy and Bug. This blog is a chronicle of our adventures as we deal with homesickness and adjust to Mountain Living. “If you are a dreamer,come in. If you are a dreamer, a wisher, a liar, a hoper, a prayer, a magic-bean-buyer. If you're a pretender, come sit by my fire, for we have some flax-golden tales to spin. Come in! Come in!” ~ Shel Silverstein
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I Did It Myyyyy Waaaaay!

  1. Claire Mello says:

    Fun! All of it! Love it! Love the outdoor bar, love the chalkboard doors/signs, love the table, love it all 🙂 I also heart Costplus in a BIG way.

  2. I adore your cute outdoor bar! And, love, love, love the table. You did a great job! Thanks for sharing this at my Make it Pretty Monday at The Dedicated House. And, yes, you made it prettier. Hope to see you again next week. Toodles, Kathryn @TheDedicatedHouse

Leave a Reply

