Modifications

Two weeks prior to my trip to Vegas I put myself on a modified South Beach Diet.  With South Beach there is no sugar, carbs, fruit or alcohol for the first two weeks.  I allowed fruit and I allowed myself chocolate covered strawberries every night and I lost that last lingering 5 pounds!  Yea!

I enjoyed myself in Vegas and the good times kept rolling upon my return with two birthday’s to celebrate and Cinco de Mayo.  Now I am back to Michal’s South Beach. 

On Pinterest this afternoon I found a yummy recipe for artichokes and spaghetti.  I got about 6 artichokes in my co-op box last week.  Usually I blanche them and then peel and dip each leaf into a lemon-butter sauce.  I was excited to find this new way to make artichokes.

The recipe calls for 4-6 artichokes. To start one must trim and clean the artichokes.  I rinsed mine and trimmed the leaves and the stem.  Next you blanche them for 2 minutes in boiling water. 

I went to my cabinet where I keep my dutch oven but it wasn’t there.  I looked in the dishwasher, the sink, and other cabinets.  I figured My Man must’ve used it while I was out of town and so I IM’d him.

Me: Do you happen to know where my dutch oven is?  I can’t find it anywhere.

Man: Not sure what that is…

Me: My biggest pot.  It also has inserts for steaming….

Man: Oh yeah.  It’s in the garage.

Me: Why, pray tell, is it in the garage?

Man: I used it for my tree saplings.  I needed to soak the roots.

I went down into the garage and sure enough, there is my pot with dirt and debris inside.  This is not the first time That Man has used my things as a tool.  He recently installed a door jam and found that my favorite red lipstick was the perfect way to mark its spot.

Me: Found it.

Man: Nice.

Me: Would you please stop using MY things, i.e. lipstick, pots and pans, as tools?

With soap and water I cleaned out the pot and set back to work on my recipe.  After blanching the artichokes they were to be fried in olive oil, briefly on each side.

This is kind of strange… They are so big!

Next I was to add 2 garlic cloves and some red chili pepper.  It smelled amazing!  While this was going on I had some whole wheat pasta boiling to al dente.  When it was done I was supposed to plate the artichokes with the spaghetti.

This isn’t right.  Their too big!  This doesn’t look like the picture.

I tried to call Caren but could not get a hold of her.  So I searched Google and learned that to clean and trim an artichoke means much more than I had thought.  See here: http://www.finecooking.com/item/13872/how-to-clean-and-trim-artichokes-for-recipes

I took my very pliable and oily artichokes from the pan and tried to peel off the leaves to get to the heart but the whole thing was so tender it just fell apart.  I decided to toss the cooked pasta in the oil, garlic, chili mix and even tried to toss a few of the artichoke leaves in.  The lest went into the trash can.

Poop.  This was not what I had planned for lunch.  After researching a recipe, hunting and cleaning my pot and poorly preparing my meal it was now almost 2:00.

Well, the pasta smells amazing anyway.  Crap!  I can’t eat pasta!

After all that I realized that I had prepared a meal that was not with in my modified South Beach.  I decided to eat it anyway, topping the dish with parmesean cheese.  Delish!  And much easier than messing with that artichoke bit. Hopefully, the weight will not be affected in a negative way…

About buddyandbug

Man and I moved from Texas to Colorado with Buddy and Bug. This blog is a chronicle of our adventures as we deal with homesickness and adjust to Mountain Living. “If you are a dreamer,come in. If you are a dreamer, a wisher, a liar, a hoper, a prayer, a magic-bean-buyer. If you're a pretender, come sit by my fire, for we have some flax-golden tales to spin. Come in! Come in!” ~ Shel Silverstein
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Modifications

  1. sharib22 says:

    that sounds so good!!!

  2. buddyandbug says:

    I added some italian sausage to it for Aaron and the boys for dinner. They loved it!

Leave a Reply

