The Funnies

Yesterday was Modified Testing at the school so the kids did not have a full day.  When testing was finished, I picked the boys up and took them down the hill for lunch and to buy Bug new shoes.  The boys were on a role with funny things they would say.  They kept me chuckling all day!

Here is a taste of the Buddy and Bug Comedy Hour:

Listening to The Dirty RIver Boys song, Magdalene:

Magdalene, she took a loaded gun

Shot it into the sun

To kill the morning.

She said “bury, bury me.”

Bug: Mom, I think this song is a metaphor.

Me: Yes it is, Bug-o.  What do you think it’s a metaphor for?

Bug: Well, this Magdalene girl is um-uh, maybe she doesn’t want to get up in the morning and she says “bury me” because she wants to be buried under her covers.

Me: That’s a pretty good guess.

Bug: I figured it out from clues in the text.  Of course…it could mean that she says “bury me” because after she shoots the sun the sun gets mad and throws fire down on her and so she um-uh, you know…died.

Kind of morbid I guess but it cracked me up!  Then we bought Bug some really funky shoes.  They are orange and blue.  Broncos colors.

Bug to Buddy: So whatchya think, Brother?  Do you love them?

Buddy: Well you know what they say: the shoes complete the man.

Do they?  Do they say that?  Ah well… It’s Crazy Hair Day at school and so we schemed for ways to do their hair.

Me: Buddy, you can do a fauxhawk but color it! 

Buddy: Why do you call it a fauxhawk?  Isn’t it a MOhawk?

Me: Well, faux, f-a-u-x, means fake.  A real mohawk would have hair that stands up straight in the middle and the sides shaved.  When you do a fauxhawk you have hair on the sides.  So it’s not a REAL mohawk.  It just mimicks it.

Buddy: And all this time I thought it meant that the foe-hawk was the sworn enemy of the mohawk…

Bug: Homophones.  Gets you everytime.

Next stop: sunglasses for Bug.  We found a pretty cool pair at Target.  Very sporty and slick.

Buddy to Bug who was modeling his new shades: Well, I’ve heard of “looks that kill” but never have I heard of “looks that could raise the dead!”

I’m still not sure if that was a compliment or an insult…  And after we colored Buddy’s hair Bug said:

Buddy, you’re a HUNK!

And finally:

Bug:  Mom, do you love me?

Me: Yes.  Very much.

Bug: Lots and lots?

Me: I love you more than life!  I would jump in front of a speeding bus for you!

Bug: Well, it’s a good thing we have life insurance….(he sang in a nanny nanny boo boo tune.)

I will be sleeping with one eye opened.

About buddyandbug

Man and I moved from Texas to Colorado with Buddy and Bug. This blog is a chronicle of our adventures as we deal with homesickness and adjust to Mountain Living. “If you are a dreamer,come in. If you are a dreamer, a wisher, a liar, a hoper, a prayer, a magic-bean-buyer. If you're a pretender, come sit by my fire, for we have some flax-golden tales to spin. Come in! Come in!” ~ Shel Silverstein
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Funnies

  1. sharib22 says:

    hahahha..your kids are so cute!! And obviously got your creative mind!!! Love it!

  2. Laurel says:

    LOL!

Leave a Reply

