Ensemble

So, I was pretty disappointed in myself after Sunday’s call back audition.  I really stunk!  And I am not being hard on myself, though I often am.  This was just real honest to goodness BAD.

I got a very encouraging e-mail from my Theater Godmother, Christina.  She said that they spent a whole semester at AMDA on “cold reads.”  She gave me lots of tips for the next time this is encountered and congratulated me on getting my first experience with it under my belt.

Yesterday was long as I kept waiting and waiting and waiting to hear back on whether or not I got the role.  I was pretty darn sure that I didn’t but I am the type that will hold on to the tiniest threads of hope.  The longer I wait the more scenarios, of why I may possibly be getting the part, play through my head.  It was such a long day!

Finally, around 3:00 I got an e-mail asking me to consider a part in the ensemble.  It’s what I knew I’d get but I just needed to be told.  I had a little cry about it and then started checking out the names of the others on the list.  Several people from the Evita cast would also be in the ensemble!  This is going to be so fun!

Theater is very fickle.  The very people who had leads in Evita are now in the ensemble.  You just never know what will appeal to what director.  As I’ve said before, it’s not just ones talent that gets one a role.  You have to have the look and presence that they are looking for.

I remember at the audition that The Consummate Actress was very poised and elegant by nature.  Traits that I would have to pretend and act to be, came to her naturally.  Perfect for the baroness.  Also, she sort of held court there in the lobby.  Other actresses were sitting about her listening to her stories.  It’s not because she demanded attention but that she was just very charming.  Again, something I’d have to fake.  All of that to say, if I was on an even playing field with her as a performer, I could see how they would choose her over me because she naturally suits the role.  That being said, I am NOT on an even playing field with her.  Ha!  Oh, how I blew it.

To my credit:  I have auditioned 4 times and received 3 call backs.  Each time I have been in close consideration for a lead role.  That’s not bad for someone who is counting solely on her passion and has no vocal or dramatic training to lean on!  I am pleased with that. 

So now I have to wait 3 months until rehearsals begin.  Argh!  Too long!  In the mean time I am working on a story to submit to Ladies Home Journal and painting. 

And dieting. 

The Consummate Dieter.

About buddyandbug

Man and I moved from Texas to Colorado with Buddy and Bug. This blog is a chronicle of our adventures as we deal with homesickness and adjust to Mountain Living. “If you are a dreamer,come in. If you are a dreamer, a wisher, a liar, a hoper, a prayer, a magic-bean-buyer. If you're a pretender, come sit by my fire, for we have some flax-golden tales to spin. Come in! Come in!” ~ Shel Silverstein
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Ensemble

Leave a Reply

