Kick Start

The Dirty River Boys are trying to record their first album.  They are using a site called kickstart which allows fans to donate money so they can afford to record and produce.  For a donation the band awards their fans with gifts depending on the amount given.

One night at dinner I was telling Man about the awesome gifts they are giving.  There are autographed CDs, shirts, and guitars.  You can “win” dinner with the band and even a personal concert.

“Could you imagine The Dirty River Boys playing a concert for us in our back yard?!  The mountain setting would be PERFECT!”  I said.

“What?!”  Bug exclaimed.  “The Dirty River Boys would come HERE and do a concert?”

“They will if Daddy helps them out with their CD…”

“Well, that’s it!  I’m going to raise some money to donate to them,” Bug declared.  “I think I’ll open a mini-donut stand…”

The Bug is a big fan of DRB (and donuts).  He requests their EP when we are in the car.  He also requests that I turn it up and not sing along…  Hmph!

Bug went to work right away making plans for his mini-donut stand.  He wanted to post fliers all over the mountain-hood and at his school.

“First my shop needs a name….” he puzzled.  “I know!  How about Dirty Mini-Holes?”

“Well….Bug-o, typically you do not want the word ‘dirty’ used to describe a food.”  And Dirty Mini-Holes brings other unsavory things to mind… I thought.  “How about something that ties it to music instead?”

“Oh!  I know!  How about ‘Hole Notes?'”

“That’s awesome!”

So Bug ran with his new theme and printed out fliers stating that Hole Notes would be open for business on St. Patty’s Day.  He drew a picture of mini-donuts climbing up a scale like whole notes on a staff.

“Mom, will you draw the Treble Clef for me?  This has got to work…” he said nervously.

Then Buddy and Bug set to work deciding on the various flavors and pricing while I tried to figure out where we would set this little bakery up.  One doesn’t typically see lemonade stands out along the dirt roads where we live.

Unforunately my Grandma’s sudden death thwarted Bug’s plan.  Her funeral was in New Mexico on St. Patrick’s Day.  The whole six hour drive down Bug wanted to hear the DRB.  I love my Dirty River Boys, I really do, but six hours of two EPs…wasn’t workin’ for me.

“Bug, I love your enthusiasm but we have to listen to something else now.  OK?”

So Bug would graciously allow us another choice but as soon as the CD was over he would ask for DRB.  Again.  It sounds annoying but secretly I loved it!  For one, I am extremely proud of his choice in music and two, I was hoping that his passion would get Man where I need it too…in his wallet!

I have big plans for the band to come and perform a backyard concert for my family and close friends.  I would love to introduce them to my Mountain People!  They will find my family charming.  They will be my friends and I will show them Red Rocks Amphitheatre where they will one day most certainly entertain their Colorado fans!  They will be my friends.  (Did I already say that part of the plan?)  They will write songs about the woman named Michal who lives on the mountain.  They will visit on the Holidays because we are all friends.

Oh yeah.  And they will think Buddy and Bug are pretty cool little boys.

Bug is still wanting to raise money for the band.  I’m sad to say that my grief is weighing me down and I have not had the umph to really help out with opening a mini-donut stand.

“So sorry Bug.”

“I know!   I can give them my tips!”

Bug has started taking piano lessons this year.  His teacher has been frustrated with his lack of practice.  She has said that  he plays incredibly well for one who only practices once or twice a week.

“I would love to see what he did if he really applied himself,” she told me.

To encourage Bug to practice she suggested we place a tip jar on top of the piano.  Everytime Bug plays we drop in a little folding money or pocket change.

“Bug, that would be very sweet and generous of you!” I told him.

Bug headed straight for the key board and played away!  I have a feeling his teacher will be quite surprised with the amount of practicing his done this week….

My regular readers know what a big fan I am of this band.  I have disowned family members who have failed to attend their concerts when they are in town.  If you would like to check out what they are all about and donate on kickstart go here:

http://www.kickstarter.com/projects/1095401368/the-dirty-river-boys-help-make-our-new-full-length?ref=live

If you donate enough to get the concert…please invite Bug and I!

About buddyandbug

Man and I moved from Texas to Colorado with Buddy and Bug. This blog is a chronicle of our adventures as we deal with homesickness and adjust to Mountain Living. “If you are a dreamer,come in. If you are a dreamer, a wisher, a liar, a hoper, a prayer, a magic-bean-buyer. If you're a pretender, come sit by my fire, for we have some flax-golden tales to spin. Come in! Come in!” ~ Shel Silverstein
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

