Encounter With The Ex

If you followed my Housewife Adventures blog you may recall that my cat, of 12 years, left me for another woman.  In fact she left me for my next door neighbor.  She planned her escape the day before Man and I took a trip to New York.  There was no time to hunt around for her.  My mom was staying with the kids and I asked her to keep an eye out in case she returned.

Two months went by with no sign of her.  One day I saw her in my neighbors yard.  I called to her and she turned her head away.

If I pretend not to see or hear her maybe she will go away.  Maybe she will think she was mistaken and I’m not her cat.

But I knew it was her because of the scar over her left eye.  I knew because of the way her flabby belly swayed back and forth while she ran away from me.

“Sinclaaaaaire!”

Later I spoke with my neighbor so she would not be nervous about me driving slowly by her house all of the time.  She is an older woman, recently widowed.  I assured her she could keep Sinclaire.  Obviously the cat could come home if she so desired.

But she doesn’t.

This Friday at the bus stop Bug spotted Sinclaire coming down the road to her new home.  Caren noted that she had seen her out a lot lately.  She’s been running all over the hill.  Apparently she has been playing everywhere but at our house.

Bug was so excited to see her and wanted to give her a big hug.  He charged toward her, arms wide spread and calling her name.

Sinclaire picked up her speed and bolted from Bug like he was the boulder in Indiana Jones.  She frantically ran with fear-filled eyes, belly flailing.

“Sinclaaaaaire!”  Bug called.  Realizing he was not going to catch her, he sadly walked back to me.  “I just wanted to hug her.”

“I know Bug.  I know.  She is afraid you will take her back.”

The bus arrived and we said our goodbyes.

I looked back up at my neighbors house and saw Sinclaire sitting on the deck of her new home.

“Twelve years, Sinclaire!  Twelve years!”  I shouted up to her.  “You are the most disloyal pet I have ever known!  EVER!!!  Poor Bug just wanted a hug…”

About buddyandbug

Man and I moved from Texas to Colorado with Buddy and Bug. This blog is a chronicle of our adventures as we deal with homesickness and adjust to Mountain Living. “If you are a dreamer,come in. If you are a dreamer, a wisher, a liar, a hoper, a prayer, a magic-bean-buyer. If you're a pretender, come sit by my fire, for we have some flax-golden tales to spin. Come in! Come in!” ~ Shel Silverstein
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Encounter With The Ex

  1. Shari May says:

    that is really funny…

  2. Which is one reason I don’t even let my cats leave the house. I’m sure Lexie’s cat would flee for the hills if given the opportunity!

Leave a Reply

