Giant Metal Chickens

About a year ago a friend complimented me on my blog and then proceeded to tell me about a much better one.  OK, she didn’t actually say it was better but apparently it is because it went completely viral.  The blog was written by The Bloggess.  She tells a hysterical tale of an argument with her husband.  She then goads the poor guy by buying a giant metal chicken, placing it at the front door and ringing the door bell.  The husband is not pleased that she spent $100 on a giant chicken just to antagonize him but I’m sure he has since forgiven her because the very funny blog flew out all over cyberspace.  Someone picked it up and the lady now has a book deal.

I was reading Lady’s Home Journal Saturday morning (a gift from my grandmother) and I came across The Bloggess’ tale of the giant chicken.  (Grab a copy of LHJ and read it or check out her blog here: http://thebloggess.com/.)  HILARIOUS!  I read it to Man who was cracking up laughing and he is not an easy man to amuse. 

I keep reading it over and over because it is so funny and also because she did it.  She has done what I have been hoping to do with my blog.  Publication.  Why not just submit a book?  I don’t have one.  Not a big girl one.  I have children’s books and they have been submitted for years and I’m tired of doing that.  I am not tired, however, of writing.  I love it.  So I figure I can write my blogs to get the need to write out of me and hopefully, MAYBE my blog will one day go viral and I’ll get published in LHJ. 

Here is how you can help.  Become a follower.  At the top of the page I think is a button to click to become a follower.  All this means is that you will get notified when I write a blog.  The Bloggess is not notifying readers by posting her most recent blog on Facebook.  A friend of mine asked the other day if this cost anything.  NO!  It does not cost a thing to subscribe to a persons blog just like all of you who follow me on Pinterest did not have to pay a thing to follow me there. 

You can also share my blog on twitter or facebook or email or whatever and to whoever you want if you find a particular blog amusing or helpful.  (Not this one.  This is not entertaining.  Maybe something more like this one: https://buddyandbug.wordpress.com/2012/02/07/no-excuses/.)  There are little buttons at the bottom of the page (I think) where you can click to do that.  What are those called?  Not buttons…there is special techno-lingo for them, I know.

Since I switched from Housewife Adventures to Buddy and Bug in January, my blog has been viewed almost 500 times.  I have 2 followers.  I’m told it’s good writing and enjoyed by many but maybe it’s not good enough to share?  I don’t know.  I want to be in LHJ.  The End.

About buddyandbug

Man and I moved from Texas to Colorado with Buddy and Bug. This blog is a chronicle of our adventures as we deal with homesickness and adjust to Mountain Living. “If you are a dreamer,come in. If you are a dreamer, a wisher, a liar, a hoper, a prayer, a magic-bean-buyer. If you're a pretender, come sit by my fire, for we have some flax-golden tales to spin. Come in! Come in!” ~ Shel Silverstein
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

