Dirt Road Anthem

My alarm clock went off this morning and I was aroused from my slumber by this song:

Ow.

I IM’ed Man.

Me:  I had the unfortunate wake up call of Dirt Road Anthem.

Man: ?

Me:  Country artists should not rap.  It’s like drinking orange juice after you’ve brushed your teeth. 

Man: Oh…I gotcha.

Me:  It was so offensive I couldn’t go back to sleep.

Man: dear…

Me: yes?

Man: ur so spoiled

Really?  Is having an appreciation for good music “spoiled?”  Let me make it clear that I am not offended by rap.  I am offended when it’s done badly.  I like both of these genres in moderation but to combine them…this is a disturbing trend that must stop.

It’s not like combining rap and rock n’ roll, ala RUN-DMC and Aerosmith.  This combo is more like peanut butter and chocolate…mmm…so good! 

Apparently Ludacris did a collaborative performance of Dirt Road Anthem with Jason Aldean at the CMT music awards (or was it the CMA’s…)  I hear it was great but the video footage of the performance is nowhere to be found.  At least not on YouTube.  I imagine that the professional help did the song a world of good.  I still have to stick to my guns on this and say that country and rap should not be combined.  It defiles both genres.

Mostly, it’s the white guy in his tight Wrangler’s, trying to tap his Luccheses to the rhythm that bothers me.  It undoes all the work of great white rappers (such as Eminem and Kid Rock) who sweat blood to break into the rap scene and puts the white man back under the stereotype of not being able to rap.  Actually, Kid Rock might be the one who could combine country and rap successfully.  The fact that he has not, or that the attempt is not well-known enough for the general public (folks like me) to be aware of, speaks to the fact that it is a combo best avoided.

Buddy and Bug like to rap.  They like to try anyway.  I don’t discourage it.  I don’t tell them  how bad they are.  Like a good mom, I go into the other room and laugh behind their backs.  Maybe one day they’ll get it but…I know their father.  I’ve also heard their father rap.  He’s no Eminem to be sure but at least he was better than Jason Aldean. 

So please, join me in breaking this pairing up.  Call your local radio station and beg them to pull this song from their playlist.  Do it now, before someone else has to be slapped out of The Land of Nod by such a jarring song as this.

About buddyandbug

Man and I moved from Texas to Colorado with Buddy and Bug. This blog is a chronicle of our adventures as we deal with homesickness and adjust to Mountain Living. “If you are a dreamer,come in. If you are a dreamer, a wisher, a liar, a hoper, a prayer, a magic-bean-buyer. If you're a pretender, come sit by my fire, for we have some flax-golden tales to spin. Come in! Come in!” ~ Shel Silverstein
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

