What Buddy and Bug Don’t Know

What Buddy and Bug don’t know is that I cleaned out all of their toys today.  The boys have 8 swords, 8 light sabers, 10 Nerf guns, 2 shields, 2 gun scopes, night vision, a laser trip wire, a remote control car with a video camera attached for spying, and walkie talkies that pose as watches.  They have other toys too but I was overwhelmed by the arsenal that they have procured.

Their Lego collection is vast.  Vast I tell you!  They already have scads of them and then my Dad sent them $100 each to Toys R Us for Christmas.  The boys came home with $200 worth of Legos.  I have recently bought these really awesome giant Legos at the container store that are for storing Legos.  Then you can stack them up, you know, ’cause their Legos.  I bought 4.  It appears I may need three or four more because even though these 4 are nearly full there are Legos all over the pub table in the kitchenette downstairs.  Grrrr.

I found TWENTY ONE toys that are still in their packaging including ANOTHER Nerf gun.  Some are from birthdays and a few are from Christmas.

 So family and friends when I tell you that my kids have plenty, I mean it.  When I ask that you only buy them one toy each for Christmas, this is why.  When I suggest a gift such as a day at the aquarium, karate lessons, or a coupon for a sleepover this is why.  I’m not mean or ungrateful.  It’s that my kids literally have more than enough.  They have so much they don’t even open all of their toys!  (Special thanks to my sister who has strived for years to be creative with the boys’ gifts.  This year it was magazine subscriptions.  Nat Geo Kids for Buddy and Chop Chop, a cooking magazine for kids, for The Bug.) 

Buddy and Bug don’t know that these brand new, never been open toys have been stashed into a closet for me to give away as gifts to other children.

What Buddy and Bug don’t know is that I filled one trash bag with actual garbage found in their room and with toys, including this little treasure:   Yes, that’s a rotting pumpkin.  Other things tossed in the trash were random parts and I pray to God that I did not throw away something vital to the function of another toy.  Actually, I guess that would be alright because then the toy won’t work right and I can toss it too. 

Buddy and Bug also are completely unaware that I filled two more trash bags with toys and costumes to take to Goodwill.  They are unaware of the want and need that other children have.  That’s not completely true because they often think of kids in need but I don’t think they REALLY get how much they have and how little others do not.

Buddy and Bug do not know that though I got the toys organized and whittled away to this:

 there is another round of threshing still to come. 

I am prepared to hear that there are special somethings missing.  I am prepared for the back lash because I mixed the knights with the army men.  I am prepared to take what ever they have to give me because I threw away a “perfectly good costume” though it is too small and tearing at the seams. 

What Buddy and Bug don’t know is that I have little sympathy in regards to their excess.  They don’t know that mom is on a rampage.  They don’t know that next up is a lesson in How To Do Your Own Laundry this Saturday.  Blog to follow.

About buddyandbug

Man and I moved from Texas to Colorado with Buddy and Bug. This blog is a chronicle of our adventures as we deal with homesickness and adjust to Mountain Living. “If you are a dreamer,come in. If you are a dreamer, a wisher, a liar, a hoper, a prayer, a magic-bean-buyer. If you're a pretender, come sit by my fire, for we have some flax-golden tales to spin. Come in! Come in!” ~ Shel Silverstein
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

